Seclusion & Restraint

As House Bill 119 & HB387 move through the legislative process to becoming a law, there are many important stages. Within each stage, we will need to supporters to email, call, or visit certain legislators. We will continue to update this page, letting you know where the bill is and how you can best advocate.

UPCOMING HEARING ON HB387

HB387 will be heard in the House Elementary and Secondary Education Committee on Tuesday, Feb. 9, at 8am. Please send an email to the committee members, encouraging them to support the seclusion and restraint bill. A sample email is listed below the committee members.

Rep. Chuck Basye- Chair                                chuck.basye@house.mo.gov
Rep. Mike Haffner- Vice-chair                          mike.haffner@house.mo.gov
Rep. Paula Brown- Ranking Minority Member    paula.brown@house.mo.gov
Rep. Ben Baker                                              ben.baker@house.mo.gov
Rep. Gretchen Bangert                                   gretchen.bangert@house.mo.gov
Rep. Rusty Black                                            rusty.black@house.mo.gov
Rep. Phil Christofanelli                                   phil.christofanelli@house.mo.gov
Rep. Bruce DeGroot                                       bruce.degroot@house.mo.gov
Rep. Shamed Dogan                                     shamed.dogan@house.mo.gov
Rep. Derek Grier                                           derek.grier@house.mo.gov
Rep. Ron Hicks                                              ron.hicks@house.mo.gov
Rep. Justin Hill                                              justin.hill@house.mo.gov
Rep. Ian Mackey                                           ian.mackey@house.mo.gov
Rep. Maggie Nurrenbern                               maggie.nurrenbern@house.mo.gov
Rep. Jonathan Patterson                                 jonathan.patterson@house.mo.gov
Rep. Brad Pollitt                                            bradley.pollitt@house.mo.gov
Rep. Mark Sharp                                          mark.sharp@house.mo.gov
Rep. Dan Stacy                                             dan.stacy@house.mo.gov
Rep. Marlene Terry                                        marlene.terry@house.mo.gov
Rep. Cheri Toalson Reisch                              cheri.toalson-reisch@house.mo.gov

Sample Email

Please support HB387 which has been assigned to the Elementary and Secondary Education Committee. It sets guidelines for seclusion and restraint in MO schools. (In 2-3 sentences explain why you think MO needs a law placing guidelines on seclusion and restraint.) Thank you for helping protect Missouri's children.

Sincerely,

Name
 


This sample is very basic. You are welcome to share personal stories. These can make a big impact. We want to stress that it doesn't have to be long or fancy. Please take the time to reach out to all the committee members. Your emails can swing votes.

© 2017. Proudly created with Wix.com

Disclaimer: All the information on this website is published in good faith and for general information purpose only. The website owners do not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. Any action you take upon the information you find on this website, is strictly at your own risk. The website owners will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.

By using our website, you hereby consent to our disclaimer and agree to its terms.