Disclaimer: All the information on this website is published in good faith and for general information purpose only. The website owners do not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. Any action you take upon the information you find on this website, is strictly at your own risk. The website owners will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.

By using our website, you hereby consent to our disclaimer and agree to its terms.

HB1568: Seclusion & Restraint

As House Bill 1568 moves through the legislative process to becoming a law, there are many important stages. Within each stage, we will need to supporters to email, call, or visit certain legislators. We will continue to update this page, letting you know where the bill is and how you can best advocate.

Elementary and Secondary Education Committee 

The first stop for a bill is committee. There is a formal hearing. HB1568 is scheduled to be heard on Tuesday, January 14, in House Hearing Rm 5 which is located in the basement of the capitol. The committee meets at 8am, but will probably not get to HB1568 until closer to 9am. If you cannot make it to the hearing, please email or call the legislators on the committee, encouraging them to vote for HB1568. Below are links for emailing committee members. Simply click on the link and copy & paste in your message. We have also included a sample email to give you ideas on what to write.

Rep. Chuck Basye (Chair)            Chuck.Basye@house.mo.gov             573-751-1501
Rep. Dottie Bailey (Vice-chair)       Dottie.Bailey@house.mo.gov             573-751-0562 
Rep. Judy Morgan                       Judy.Morgan@house.mo.gov            573-751-4485 
  (ranking minority member)
Rep. Ben Baker                           Ben.Baker@house.mo.gov                573-751-9781 
Rep. Gretchen Bangert              Gretchen.Bangert@house.mo.gov        573-751-5365  

Rep. Paula Brown                       Paula.Brown@house.mo.gov             573-751-4163
Rep. Phil Christofanelli               Phil.Christofanelli@house.mo.gov        573-751-2949
Rep. Shamed Dogan                 Shamed.Dogan@house.mo.gov          573-751-4392

Rep. Karla Eslinger                    Karla.Eslinger@house.mo.gov            573-751-2042
Rep. Michael O'Donnell            Michael.ODonnell@house.mo.gov       573-751-3762
Rep. Raychel Proudie                  Raychel.Proudie@house.mo.gov        573-751-0855
Rep. Nick Schroer                      Nick.Schroer@house.mo.gov            573-751-1470
Rep. Dan Stacy                          Dan.Stacy@house.mo.gov                573-751-8636
Rep. Kathryn Swan                    Kathryn.Swan@house.mo.gov           573-751-1443 

Sample Email

Please support HB1568 which has been assigned to the Elementary and Secondary Education Committee. It sets guidelines for seclusion and restraint in MO schools. (In 2-3 sentences explain why you think MO needs a law placing guidelines on seclusion and restraint.) Thank you for helping protect Missouri's children.

Sincerely,

Name
 


This sample is very basic. You are welcome to share personal stories. These can make a big impact. We want to stress that it doesn't have to be long or fancy. Please take the time to reach out to all the committee members. Your emails can swing votes.